Church of South India
Get Adobe Flash player

About the Pastorate

The Puliangudi Pastorate, situated at the foot of the western great mountain came into being in 1969. It had functioned under Bangalow Surandai till 1943 and thereafter under Tenkasi Pastorate. St. Methew’s Church was started by the great Missionary Rev. Baren Brube in 1877. This small church was rebuilt as a big Church in 1954 thanks to the services of Rev. K. S. Abraham. Rev M.G.R. Sugumar built two storey building for the T.D.T.A. School. A new Parsonage was built and dedicated by the Bishop Rt. Rev. S. Jeyapaul David B.A., B.D. on 4.12.1999.

This Pastorate consists of the following congregations:

  • St. Mathew’s Church, Puliaugudi
  • HChrist Church, Kadayanallur
  • St. Bartholomew’s Church, Chinthamani
  • Christ Church, Christnagar
  • Transfiguration Church, Veerasigamani
  • Christ Church, Senthamaram
  • St. Peter’s Church, Chokkampatti
  • Chelimbuthoppu

The plans of the Pastorate include:

  • extension of the Puliangudi Church and building a Tower
  • building new churches on the northern and southern part of Puliangudi
  • construction of a three storey tower for Christnagar Church
  • construction of a building at the cost of 3,50,000/- for the Arunachalapuram – T.D.T.A. Middle School ( work is on now)
  • extension of the Kadayanallur Church at the cost of 5,00,000/-
  • installation of a bore well in the Chokkampatti Church Compound
  • formation of a new congregation for the tribal people living at the western hills of Chokkampatti
  • constuction of new buildings for Puliangudi and Kadayanallur Primary Schools

Important Festivals in the Pastorate

CongregationDedication DayAsanam
Puliaugudi20 DecemberWednesday in Holy Week
Kadayanallur11 June
Chinthamani 25 August
Christnagar3 June3 June
Veerasigamani3 April
Sernthamaram23 December
Chokkanpatti27 January
Chelimbuthoppu5 August
Select your Pastorate

Select Clergy